Stupifyingly oppressive regime

Take a guess at which regime I’m talking about. A wild, wild guess.

I don’t know what you just guessed, but I’m pretty sure you guessed wrong. Unless you’re already read about the city of Helena-West Helena* in Arkansas. This never-before-heard-of city apparently has very bad crime. Worse than Detroit or Chicago or NYC or LA. Because they have felt the need to institute martial law a 24-hour-a-day curfew. Any time of the day, if the cops (carrying assault rifles, rifles with laser scopes, or sawed off shotguns) see you, they can stop you and arrest you. The city council voted unanimously to take this action.

What really disturbs me isn’t so much the curfew itself (though it likely is unconstitutional, and for a very good reason). What really disturbs me is the attitude behind it:

“The citizens deserve peace, that some infringement on constitutional
rights is OK and we have not violated anything as far as the
Constitution.”

That is a quote from Mayor James Valley. A quote in which he simultaneously says “infringing the constitution a little bit like we are is OK” and “but we aren’t infringing the constitution”.

Next up, we have this beauty:

“As far as I’m concerned, at 3 o’clock in the morning, nobody has any business being on the street, except the law”

This from Councilman Eugene “Red” Johnson. I assume “Red” is short for “Redneck”. I’ve got news for you, “Red”. I’ve got just as much business being on the street at 3 AM as you do at 3 PM. I suppose all your stores close at sundown, and nobody ever works a graveyard shift? Once the bars stop serving alcohol, people are at home within the hour? Get a life, “Red”, and quit fucking around with everybody else’s lives.

“The only rights y’all have is what we give you.”

OK, you got me… Nobody actually said those exact words.

*what is up with that city name? Is the city founded by Bond-James Bond?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • CraigM  On August 13, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    I personally prefer Marshall’s and Home Goods’ law. They have better deals, and the chance to get some decorative armor.

  • Tarra  On December 2, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I don’t really know what this argument is about, I just wanted to chime in that Eugene “Red” Johnson is no “redneck.” He is an educated African-American man, as is the mayor of the merged cities of Helena-West Helena. Just for the record, my uncle passed away yesterday. You really need something better to do with your time. Get a life outside of the internet!

  • Tarra  On December 2, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Oh…I forgot to mention, Mr. Johnson was my uncle!

  • wolfger  On December 2, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    I’m sorry for your loss, but I stand by my opinion of your uncle’s quoted statement.

Leave a comment