Five-plus years of Gmail

I looked today and saw that my Gmail usage is up to 40% of my total allotment. That is awe-inspiring in two ways. Firstly, I’m amazed that I’ve got that much e-mail sent and received. Roughly 3 GB of e-mail. Secondly, that in all the time I’ve been using Gmail, and deleting very little other than the spam, I still haven’t used half of my space. Compare this to work, where I’m only given 125 MB for mail, and I archive old e-mails every 2-3 weeks just to stay withing the limit.

So what does Gmail save for me? I went back to the oldest e-mail I have on the system: May 25, 2005, a subscription confirmation for a mailing list that I quit several months ago. Guess I can delete those… 🙂

The oldest useful e-mail is on the same day, from me to another mailing list, providing a link to a site I’ve long-since forgotten about: The Company of Saynt George

I also notice that my sig line from back then announces my Yahoo! Instant Messenger, AIM, and Skype accounts (all of which I still have, but mostly don’t use because of Gmail chat), and also my website (which isn’t mine anymore), www.wolfger.com

Thank you, Gmail, for this little trip down memory lane, for 7GB of free storage that allows this trip to happen, and for the best e-mail application I’ve ever used.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

