Quote du Jour

It’s been over 3 weeks now since I last felt I had anything in me worth blogging about. Not entirely sure why that is, but I want to change that and get back to blogging.

I use Google Chat to keep in touch with friends, and I tend to leave a “status” up far longer than it is relevant. Like the common and rather unimaginative “TGIF” that tends to pop up of Friday and linger until Tuesday when somebody harasses me about it. To this end, I’ve been populating my status message with quotes this week. Most quotes are quite old to begin with, so they won’t go stale…

I used to have a huge collection of quotes that I hand-picked from the internet and some dead-tree sources. I had an old-school website before blogs became the de facto standard, and I wrote a Perl script that would display a random quote when you visited my site. I also started a Quote du Jour mailing list, and wrote another script to send a random quote out every day (and remove it from the to-send list so there would be no duplicates).  Somewhere along the way, I lost all of that.

So today, I’ve decided to start building up my collection again. The past month-ish of my life hasn’t been all that great, but with a little work and a little positive attitude, I’m enjoying life again, and I like to share my attitude with others via these quotes. I may or may not put one up daily, but it’s something to get content back into my blog, at any rate.

No time like the present to get started…

“Henceforth I ask not good-fortune, I myself am good-fortune.”

~Walt Whitman

Don’t sit around waiting for good things to happen to you. Make good things happen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

