Customer loyalty

Chrysler send me a coupon in the mail yesterday. It’s good until the end of the month for $1,000 off a new vehicle, for “customer loyalty”. In my book, people aren’t really loyal if you have to bribe them… But the reason I’m not using that coupon, aside from the shitty state of the economy and consequently my bank account, is that it’s only been 6 years and 165,000 miles since I bought my Jeep. It’s nowhere near time to replace it yet. And if it was in need of replacement already, I wouldn’t be feeling very loyal. I can understand an automaker’s desire to sell new cars fairly often, but I think the days of buying a new vehicle every 2 to 3 years are well behind us. People in Cuba still drive cars from the 50’s. I think Americans can stand to keep one car up and running for 10 years, at least.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jeff, KE9V  On June 11, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Amen brother. I drive a 1998 Buick LeSabre with the 305 engine. It has 155,000 miles on it, is BIG, comfortable, and it gets 31mpg. I go to the car lot and see tiny little craplets that brag about 23mpg on the highway and sell for $25k. Pish-posh! My Buick doesn’t have a spot of rust on it will very likely out live me.

    Besides, I haven’t had a car payment since 2001 and that may be the very best part!

    If and when the day finally comes that I need a new one, my next car is going to be a new bicycle.

Leave a Reply

