Epic WINE

In an ideal world, the operating system you choose for your computer wouldn’t affect which programs you can run. Of course, we don’t live in an ideal world, but we are getting closer. This morning, I read that Wil Wheaton is holding a little poker tournament today, on his old sponsor, PokerStars. I tried in the past to play in his tournaments, but PokerStars required me to install their (Windows-only) software to play. I tried to install it via Cedega, but it didn’t run right. But, being a perpetual optimist, I decided to check their site again today and see if maybe they supported other operating systems yet. I clicked the download button, and a screen popped up  in Firefox telling me this file is a Windows executable. It asked me what I would like to do with it, the default option being to open it with WINE. Sure, why not? It downloaded to my system and immediately launched into a familiar installation screen, and instantly ran. So far as I can tell, it runs flawlessly (maybe without sound?), and I’m up over $700 on the “play money” tables. This is it. This is the way it should be. I’m very happy with Ubuntu, WINE, Firefox, and any other team that made this a reality. It’s awesome when things “just work”.

Firefox WINE dialog

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

  • By Linux Hold’em « Nothing to see here. Move along. on August 26, 2009 at 10:30 am

    […] Posted by wolfger on August 26, 2009 So a couple months back I was reading a Wil Wheaton post about him running a small stakes tourney on PokerStars. I’d tried in the past to use PokerStars, but the software wouldn’t install under Cedega, which is what I used for my Windows games at the time. I decided to try again, and met with outstanding success using WINE. […]

Leave a Reply

