Star Trek (without spoilers)

When I first saw pictures of the crew of the Enterprise for this new Star Trek movie, I was not impressed. I saw a bunch of young adults standing on the bridge, trying to look like younger versions of the original crew. I snarkily referred to the movie as Star Trek Babies. I was sure that a cast chosen based on appearances would utterly fail to deliver, and I was frightened that Hollywood would (as it so often has) completely butcher the original in the attempt to create a fresh new franchise.

Opening weekend brought me nothing but good reviews from anybody whose opinion I respected. So I decided that, unlike Watchmen, I needed to see this movie before it hit the cheap theater.

I didn’t even wait for a matinĂ©e. I payed full price on a Friday night. I was not disappointed. In fact, all 6 of us who went want to see it again.

The non-spoiler break-down.
Kirk was good. Ego-driven as ever, Kirk bulls his way through all obstacles… eventually.
Spock was good. Though I kept seeing Sylar, Zachary Quinto was a good choice for the role.
Sulu and Chekov and Scotty were good.
Uhuru was sexy as hell.
But when it comes down to it, Bones stole almost every scene he was in.

This movie has it all. Action, humor, and even a bit of emotion. The special effects are as good as you would expect. The plot is what it is… and for being a Star Trek movie plot, I’d say it’s above average. What carries the movie for Trek fans is that they got the characters right. What carries the movie for non-Trek fans is that they got the characters right. It’s all about the characters. I was skeptical (and impressed) when I read a review comparing Star Trek to Serenity/Firefly, but they both do have this in common. They are character-driven stories. The characters are well-written and well-acted, and it doesn’t really matter what the plot is when you have that, because the characters draw the audience in.

I’ll probably do a spoiler-ific review a little later on. For now, let me just say I’ll see it again, and I’ll own it on DVD, and I’m hoping they do a sequel or two.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Noel Lynne Figart  On May 16, 2009 at 6:24 am

    Well, your assessment pretty much matches mine in the matter. I was quite pleasantly surprised.

  • Craig Maloney  On May 16, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Spot on. The cast and crew deserve huge kudos for pulling off what I consider to be the most herculean feat of any movie. They took on a series that has a ravenous, cult-like following, and made a move that builds on that series without pissing all over it. I was expecting a train-wreck, but I got a great movie instead. Color me satisfied.

Leave a Reply

