I hate repeating myself

I’ve written here about tasers over and over and over again. A quick search on WordPress shows me somebody else wrote about it just a few weeks ago. The Detroit Free Press talks about yet another instance today.

How many people have to die from tasers before we stop referring to them as non-lethal weapons?

If they weren’t classified as non-lethal, they wouldn’t be used so readily, and fewer unintended deaths would result.

Even when they don’t result in death, they get overused. There is no justification for tasering anybody 12 times.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ron  On April 14, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Why are you always going on about tasers, Wolfger?
    I agree.
    Ron

  • wolfger  On April 14, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Why? Because it really ticks me off, that’s why. Some day I may say the wrong thing to a cop, and he might decide I’m “resisting arrest” and taser me. And even if it doesn’t kill me, it’s gonna be real unpleasant. And it really seems that the cops never suffer the consequences of their actions, because “it was an accident” and “they followed procedure”.

  • Ron  On April 14, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I was just trying to make a loose reference to Life of Brian (Why are you always going on about women, Stan?) The BRITISHACCENT /BRITISHACCENT commands got left out because I put the in the correct place and the page tried to process them as actual commands rather than just type them out (should have quoted them?). In any case I was just trying first to be funny then to agree. I think that there are several other things our Police need to be reigned in on as well.

  • wolfger  On April 14, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Ah. Right, then. I see it has been far too long since I’ve watched Life of Brian.

Leave a Reply

