HDTV + DVR = timesink

Is it just me, or does “high definition” compel people to watch things they otherwise probably wouldn’t, just because they look so much better than anything used to?
Combine that with the DVR built into my Comcast HD box, and what do you get? I’m watching shows I otherwise probably wouldn’t, which aren’t even on at the time that I’m watching TV. So far I’ve recorded Tron, Legend of Drunken Master, Far and Away… movies I don’t own on DVD for a reason. Also I’ve recorded some shows I love but never watch due to timing… Mythbusters, Inhale, and a “reality TV” show about ultimate fighting which sounds interesting but I’ve never seen. Do I really have time for all this, though?

I love my DVR for all the useful things. I can pause the TV to go to the bathroom, or get a drink, or take a phone call. Later on, after pausing the show, I can fast-forward through commercials to make up that time. That’s awesome beyond words. I just need to learn not to record everything that sounds halfway decent (or less) just because I can.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jcastro  On December 29, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Check out Food Network … it’s addictive.

  • Jay  On December 29, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Congrats on reaching step 1…acknowledging you have a problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

