I like Curves

Blogging things somewhat out of chronological order… before downloading the new Ubuntu on Thursday, I made a stop at the AT&T store on my way home to trade in my old “new phone” (the LG CU515) that I didn’t like much. I got, instead, a BlackBerry Curve 8310.

This, despite some issues, I am very happy with. But I’m still going to start out with the issues.

I don’t like the fact that I can’t transfer multimedia to/from the phone. I downloaded the latest version of the desktop software and put it on my work laptop (Windows… ew…), and there is a Media Manager that is supposed to be available, but the selection is grayed out and I can’t choose it. There’s also a “BlackBerry Media Sync”, but using that requires that I install iTunes, which I really don’t want to do. I just want to transfer crap to my phone. Or from my phone. Google assures me, though, that I’ll have no problem once I buy and install a microSD card (for $8), so I can deal with that.

Second issue is that the GPS seems to be extremely inaccurate, when it works. Perhaps that’s just the free interfaces I’m using. Maybe it would be precise if I paid for the TeleNav service. <shrug> Can’t really see paying for GPS service when I have zero confidence that the GPS will spot me within a quarter mile of my location (it’s placed me as far as a mile and a half away from where I am).

Now that that’s out of the way… I love this phone! I’ve got a blackberry e-mail address now, and I set up filters in Gmail to forward important e-mails to my phone. Text messaging is a breeze with the full keyboard. Google has a sync program so that my BB and Google Calendar are never going to be different for more than 2 hours. I’ve installed IRC and SSH clients. One of these days I’ll get around to putting some games on. I was nervous about the track ball navigation, but so far I am loving it. I just wish that scrolling upwards at the top of the list (or downwards at the bottom) would wrap around to the other end. The camera is good, and has settings for white balance (I was surprised). I love the way it recognizes when you put it into or take it out of the holster (blanking or turning on the screen as appropriate), and you can set separate ring/vibrate rules/volumes depending on holsteredness.

In the near future, I’ll be playing with Barry to get my BB Curve charging and syncing on my Ubuntu box. If nobody beats me to it, I’ll package that software for Ubuntu, too, to help out other BB users. Somewhere down the road, I need to learn Java ME, so I can write BB apps…

Now I’m still looking for some software, if anybody can help me out. There’s all sorts of stuff to buy, but I’m hoping to find freeware since the economy sucks. I want:

  1. an SFTP client (FTP would work in a pinch)
  2. a chess game I can play against the computer (with option to play remotely against humans a definite plus)
  3. an exercise logger
  4. a Perl interpreter, if such a thing exists on this platform
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

