BrokenID

OpenID is such a wonderful idea, implemented (for the most part) in a horribly borked way. I have found, I think, a grand total of 2 sites that actually use OpenID the way it should be used: AS AN ID! These sites are LiveJournal and Identica(edit: on second glance, LJ fails; my bad). Every other site fudges it in some fashion. Some (I’m thinking specifically Blogger blog comments) let you use it as a temporary (i.e. single session, or single use) ID. Some, including two blogs I wanted to leave comments on today, tease me with the “ability” to log in with OpenID, but then immediately require me to register for an account on their server. Which is exactly what I could have done without OpenID. So what is the point? I can associate my OpenID with this new account? Yay. Again, what is the point? It makes me sad and frustrated that the OpenID concept is being ruined by sites that just don’t understand it. Also, many big name sites “support” OpenID first by being an ID provider. Accepting ID from other providers is added later, if at all. Again, what’s the point? There really ought to be some regulating committe that oversees OpenID and whacks sites with a big heavy nail-laden stick when they don’t do it right.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Chaz6  On August 20, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Ironically Livejournal, the creator of OpenID, does /not/ provide a full experience when you are using an OpenID. OpenID accounts are unable to keep their own journals nor join communities. To do this you need to have a regular livejournal account.

  • wolfger  On August 20, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    You are correct, sir! I never actually tried to post to my OpenID account since I already had an existing account. The *option* to “update your journal” is there. After reading your comment, I tried to exercise that option and discovered I could not actually do it. They tease.

  • The Pain Bank  On August 21, 2008 at 9:18 am

    as I understood it, you need to create the account to a site, then associate your OpenID with the account. Thereafter, you only need to use the OpenID for login… saves from having to retype passwords all the time as I understood it.

  • wolfger  On August 21, 2008 at 10:31 am

    That’s the broken way of doing it. The point is in not needing to *have* a different password for every site. If you have an OpenID, go to http://identi.ca/ and login with it. You will have an account immediately. A fully functional account, except for “remember me” which doesn’t (or didn’t used to) work without a password. That’s OpenID done right. A set of credentials on one site that gains you access to other sites. Not just something your other accounts can be “linked to”.

Leave a Reply

