The FDA is on drugs

Read an article today from a couple weeks back. The FDA has ruled that High Fructose Corn Syrup is “natural”. Sure. That and everything else manufactured in a chemistry lab, right?
I feel the pain of the author of this story. I, too, tried to cut HFCS out of my diet. It’s nearly impossible. You would be amazed what this artificially produced “natural” product winds up in. We’re talking big bucks, here. Why else would the Corn Refiners Association be blowing millions of dollars on advertising campaigns to reassure us that it’s OK? Here’s a hint: people don’t go spending that kind of money assuring you that something is OK if it actually is OK.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Greg  On July 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    I like how you have a “conspiracy” category.

    I always tell everyone that “people getting together with common interests and making plans to work together to increase their position (at the peoples’ cost) is not a conspiracy”

    Keep ’em coming. And dang, when you going to become an Ubuntu member so I can read this on p.u.c? 😉

  • wolfger  On July 22, 2008 at 4:42 am

    Well, you are potentially telling people wrong, depending on which of the 5 definitions you both agree on: http://ur1.ca/0cl

    Seeing as how I consider HFCS to be evil, and pushing it on an unsuspecting populace is more evil, I think it qualifies under multiple definitions. But really that definition #5 covers damned near anything 🙂

    I’ve applied many times to Planet Ubuntu-users, but they ignore me. I was planning to apply for Ubuntu membership after Penguicon, but then my life suddenly got quite busy. I should get to work on that, so I can spread my kooky ideas to a wider audience.

  • Craig Maloney  On July 22, 2008 at 6:39 am

    I too have cut out H.F.C. from my diet as much as I can. I can attribute my not-so-girlish figure to entirely too much Mountain Dew through most of my adult life, so I’m well aware of the fun that H.F.C. can bring. Sure, it’s derived from natural materials, but my body doesn’t think it’s natural at all.

  • Jay  On July 22, 2008 at 7:27 am

    I heard that by 2012, all HFCS will produced using wind power.

    I really don’t care if it’s a natural product. My issue is with a public that believes that “natural” means “good for you”.

    I mean, c’mon, ricin is natural. Salmonella is natural. Radon is natural. Dead horses are natural (but beating them isn’t so I’ll stop here).

Leave a Reply

