Intelligent design? Or stupid design?

I was thinking a bit today about Intelligent Design. I don’t know why, don’t ask me. But I’m going to shrug off the mantle of “atheist” for the moment, because I’m really more of an “apatheist”, and argue against Intelligent Design from a religious perspective. Because, you see, the ID people want us all to believe that we humans are the result of a deliberate design by an intelligent god-like being (more specifically, in 99.99% of the cases, the Christian god). What these people – who cut their hair, shave portions of their anatomy, use anti-wrinkle cream, and wear shoes and clothing – fail to realize is that they are arguing against ID every time they artificially modify their bodies.
“God, you designed me a crappy foot, and made me too short, so I’m gonna wear high-heel shoes.”
“God, I don’t like the hair on my chin, and I’m unhappy about the lack of hair on my head, so I’m gonna shave and use Rogaine.”
“God, why did you even make it possible for anybody to have gay sex?”
For all that they claim to believe in Intelligent Design, they spend an awful lot of time insulting their Designer by trying to improve upon it. Not only do they try to improve upon their own design, but they shun those who don’t. Anybody who refuses to cut their hair, shave, use deodorant, or wear clothes is looked down upon, or even cast out from society. Even (especially?) societies that claim to worship the Designer.
Don’t just talk the talk; walk the walk. If you think divine hands designed our species, then revel in the glory that is your natural self! Ramen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • 1peter315  On January 31, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Using your logic, every child that goes to school is insulting their parents. If children truly believed they were the product of their parents, they would be content with what they learned in the home instead of taking that family heritage and building on it by going to school, reading books and posting on blogs.

  • wolfger  On January 31, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Hard to follow your reasoning when it’s usually the parents forcing the kid to go to school. Also most parents don’t even attempt to home-school.

    …and yeah, my dad probably is offended that I post on blogs. I don’t much care.

  • geekcritic  On January 31, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Not really.
    We’re just trying to protect his already perfect design. Every creation must be protected right?

  • Tim Kurek  On January 31, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Interesting blog. I have to disagree, but I like how you think and write.

    tim kurek
    http://UriahMinistries.wordpress.com

  • wolfger  On January 31, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Thanks, Tim. You are, of course, free to disagree. I don’t have a problem with anybody who thinks about something and decides I’m wrong. Just the people who don’t think.

  • Tim Kurek  On January 31, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    But alas, that is where we can agree… Too many people DON’T think! Christians and non alike are usually equally ignorant.

    tim kurek
    http://UriahMinistries.wordpress.com

  • wolfger  On February 1, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Those who bash faith often have faith… in scientists. Belief in a “big bang”, without understanding the science behind it (or even trying to) is about on par with belief in the Bible. It amazes me that more people don’t seem to understand that, and it’s primarily why I just don’t care about the origin of the universe. I know I’ll never know, and I’m OK with that.

  • Tim Kurek  On February 1, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Wolfger,

    I appreciate your comment, I just want you to know that you will know… Its not my place to force that fact down your throat, and I don’t intend on ever trying to, but you will know. And you are right, but I would also say that it takes just as much faith to believe in the scientific “facts” that are so prevalent. Either way, well spoken, good blog, and I am happy to have made your acquaintance.

    tim kurek
    http://UriahMinistries.wordpress.com

  • Jay  On February 1, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Oooh, so close. But you blew it with that “you will know” line. Good try and thanks for playing.

  • Tim Kurek  On February 1, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Awww, Jay… You made a funny! Good for you. I didn’t know that stating my opinion would make you think so little of me. That’s ridiculous…

    tim

Leave a Reply

