Packaging and programming and sharing, oh my!

So… I’ve been working at packaging MeMaker for a while now. I haven’t been blogging my progress because I haven’t been making much, and it’s been frustrating, and I haven’t really had gobs of time for blogging anyhow.

So… today was yet another “Packaging 101” class, once again on a work day during hours which probably seem sensible in Europe, but are completely out of the question for anybody in North America who works day-shift.

So… I read an interesting blog post earlier today about “secret software”, and a New Year’s resolution to start posting/sharing scripts, regardless of how (un)impressive they are, or how poor the coding is.

So… I logged the Packaging 101 class and wrote a quickie Perl script to turn the ugly log with timestamps into a much prettier text file. If you look down at the bottom of the right hand column, you can help yourself to the raw log, the resulting text, and/or the script I whipped out to make the conversion.

Now I’m off to see if I can’t figure out my MeMaker package problem (it installs, but errors out when I run it). Also I need to look at some advice I was given regarding the business end of packaging that seems to contradict what the tutorials tell me to do. (that’s annoying, btw)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

