Kubuntu tutorials worth suffering for

Well, this morning sucked. I’ve been trying to kick a very nasty cold for a couple weeks now, and I haven’t quite succeeded yet. I didn’t sleep well Sunday or Monday nights. I’ve had aches in my shoulders, neck, and head. And to top it off, the streets were snowy this morning. I was going to call in sick. I actually started planning to call in sick about the time I got home yesterday evening. Then Jorge Castro hit me up on #ubuntu-us-mi with a link to Kubuntu Tutorials Day.

I have 15 days worth of mandatory time off each year. I’ve used up 14 of them. Do I do the smart thing and stay home this morning? No. I hit the snowy roads to begin my 90 minute commute (normally 45 minutes) in to work, so that I can have my day off next Thursday, and learn about packaging, further my bug triage education, learn the ins and outs of bzr, think about programming Python (shudder) as I learn about PyKDE4, and more Kubuntu goodness (for goodness sake!).

So hopefully my tale of suffering and self-sacrifice will encourage somebody with lesser ailments to make the effort to be there (#kubuntu-devel on Freenode) next Thursday (December 13th, 15:00 UTC), even if it is in the middle of a work day for most of us here in the states….

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • afderrick  On December 5, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    So I see you are trying to learn these things, what are you wanting to build?

  • wolfger  On December 5, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    The only thing on my “want to build” list is Torus Trooper, which was featured on Debian Package of the Day, but isn’t yet available in Ubuntu. Other than that, I just want to help Kubuntu in any way I can. I’ve been enjoying the fruits of Linux without digging in and giving back to the community.

  • Fmo  On December 11, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Hi Wolfger,

    I was looking into your message about Kubuntu tutorials and I saw that you were complaining about your “cold”, check with a doctor, I would be careful about Meningitis, symptoms are similar to what you describe.

    Rgds,
    Fmo

Leave a Reply

