Christmas before Thanksgiving

As you may have noticed, Christmas seems to be coming earlier and earlier every year. When I was growing up, the Christmas season started the day after Thanksgiving. It was well-understood, and everybody adhered to it. Not so anymore. In fact, this year there were stores selling Christmas crap before Halloween. It made me want to shoot somebody. Seriously. There is already one local radio station playing non-stop Christmas music. I think they started on November first, but I’m not sure. I will not be listening to that radio station at all until after Thanksgiving, and I’ll probably boycott them until mid-December just on principle, because they started too early.

That being said, I’m now going to violate my own moratorium on pre-turkey Xmas by linking to Nine Inch Noels. That’s the direct link to the mp3, which is a medley of Nine Inch Nails lyrics sung to classic Christmas carol tunes. Of course, I linked to the unedited version. If you want the “clean” version (or if you just want to see who’s responsible for this), go to the site and get it yourself. i won’t have any of that filthy censorship here on my blog. The site is licensed under Creative Commons, so I’m assuming the song is as well, and that there’s no problem with linking to the song.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • doctormoney  On November 24, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    i’m glad someone else feels this way. i just finished a blog on the same topic and your post was at the bottom, hope you check mine out http://wp.me/pIgel-I

Leave a Reply

