USB mouse problem, UUID’s fault?

I strongly suspect, but can’t quite prove, that UUID caused my mouse to stop working today. If my suspicion is true, I’m about to launch into an anti-UUID campaign. This is quite possibly the worst idea to hit Linux, ever. Here’s how it goes:

On my primary partition I have Kubuntu Gutsy running just fine, and on my secondary I had my old Feisty, unused in over a month. I just mailed a Gutsy CD to a friend of mine, and I’d never actually done a fresh Gutsy install, so I decided last night to use my secondary as a staging area for Gutsy-from-scratch, so that I could walk my friend, long distance, through the entire system. Now there were/are some issues with the Kubuntu Gutsy install CD that I’m not happy about at all (Adept, the package management tool, is virtually non-functional out-of-the-box, which is unacceptable. Grade: F-), but that’s not what I’m here to talk about. After I got Fresh-Gutsy running, I rebooted into Old-Gutsy, and… my mouse doesn’t work. At all. I can detect it with lsusb. I can see the modules running with lsmod. But nothing’s going. Multiple reboots later, I’m no closer to a solution. The only solution I can find on the net is “unplug the mouse and plug it back in”. Which works. I haven’t rebooted yet, but I’m willing to bet the problem is fixed for good, or until I do something else with my secondary partition. The only way I know of that an installation on that partition can affect the installation on this partition is through UUID, which I’ve previously complained about when installing “Old-Gutsy” stopped Feisty from recognizing all my partitions (like SWAP).

Now I must admit, UUID is really only causing me problem because I am, in fact, geeky enough to want more than one Linux distro on my computer. Or even two copies of the same exact distro. These are not problems that Joe Average is likely to ever see. Still, there’s no significant advantage to UUID from Joe Average’s viewpoint that justifies the headaches UUID causes geeks like me.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dave M.  On December 4, 2007 at 2:03 am

    You are too kind to UUID. It is terrible, a bad idea. It breaks things that are already working, as you mention. Much better to use drive labels, then you can read the fstab file, have it make sense, and things won’t break when you do a parallel install of another system.

  • USB Dani  On March 16, 2008 at 9:06 am

    I dont can say this with Ubuntu – works fine for me.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

