A tale of two spams

I went to bed last night (this morning) after midnight, and woke up around 6 AM. One of the last things I did before bed was check my inbox and either read or archive all the new messages. So I was rather surprised this morning when I had 16 unread messages in my inbox. I’m a firm believer in filters and labels: all my mailing lists have their own label and never touch the inbox, so 16 e-mails is pretty significant. I scan the “from” names and they’re all unfamiliar. About half of them have attachments. The top subject line is “DPOD entry: torus-trooper”. Great. Gmail’s spam filter must be out of commision. But wait… the second subject contains the words “GNU” and “wget”. This may be legit. So going down to the bottom, I see “Welcome to project-debaday”. Woot! Not only is it not spam, but I’ve been accepted as a debaday editor!

Then I see a pop-up note under my contacts list. Gmail says some dude wants to chat with me. Somebody from debaday? So I allow it, and under his name is a URL. Hmm. I say hello, and wait a good long time. He’s online but not responding. Great. Google Chat spam. Like the world needs that.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

  • By google » A tale of two spams on October 6, 2007 at 6:34 am

    […] techviews.jp wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptA tale of two spams Posted by wolfger on October 6th, 2007 I went to bed last night ( … , and wait a good long time. He’s online but not responding. Great. Google Chat spam. Like the world needs that. Posted in Debian, Google, Ubuntu, chat, spam | No Comments » […]

Leave a Reply

