The future is coming…

I was reading over on the Chrysler blog today about the new dual-clutch transmissions they’re going to be building, and I was getting excited about the technology, and then I read that it won’t be going into cars until the 2010 model year. My mood shifted from eager anticipation to frustration, disappointment, and anger. “2010?!? Why are they even bothering to talk about this if it’s so far off?”

Reality check. It’s late 2007 already. Which means that the 2008 model year is already rolling off the line. Holy crap. The year 2010 isn’t that far away!

I think my brain got stuck at the start of the new millennium. To me, the 90’s are still “just yesterday” and 2010 still seems like the distant future. Which it isn’t. I’ve been working the same job for nearly 6.5 years now. I’m closing in on the big 4-oh (40?!?) but I still feel young inside. I mean, at 40 I should be sitting in a rocking chair on the porch, yelling at kids to get off my lawn, right? 2010. Where’s my flying car? Heck with that, where’s my fuel cell car? I invested in Ballard Power (maker of fuel cells) 7 or 8 years ago, with the idea that fuel cell powered vehicles were the future… just about 10 years off, they said. Well, hell. It’s been 8 years and the next two years are already planned, and I see no fuel cell vehicles out there except the prototypes, which we’ve had for… oh, I don’t know… 7 years?

About the only futuristic thing that seems to be coming true is that Detroit fans have always said the Lions would be a good team some day. Now that, I was sure, was pure fantasy.

I want my robot butler now. And you kids: stay off my lawn!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

