Cedega vs. WINE

I’m running Kubuntu Feisty as my “stable” system, and Kubuntu Gutsy as my “test” system. On my stable system, I’m running Guild Wars under Cedega, and since I’ve heard a lot of people say good things about Guild Wars under WINE (and since Cedega is not free-of-charge), I decided to run that on the test system.

Where Cedega is better:
Cedega makes configuration a breeze. There’s a GUI that pops up and lets you select a variety of options, like which version of Windows to emulate, which version of PixelShaders to use, etc.
Cedega has a database with suggested settings for all games (including Guild Wars) that they support, which truly makes config a no-brainer.
Cedega, once you get past the buggy install, plays GW near-flawlessly. There’s just an “invisible cursor” problem when you enter a new area, and that goes away quickly with a few right-clicks on the mouse. The same problem exists under WINE.

Where WINE is better:
WINE is free, in both senses of the word.
The installation under WINE works much better than the installation under Cedega. It’s completely hassle-free (under Cedega, I always have a “graphics problem” upon first install).
The graphics under WINE actually look crisper, but the downside is that there are some graphical glitches as well.

Where things get ugly:
Support from either of these is poor. Cedega will help you, eventually, but they are much slower about it than they ought to be, for a paid-for service. WINE is, if anything, even worse. I encountered a repeatable bug in GW in the AMD64 version of WINE, and I tried to file a bug report. I got a prompt reply… just about an hour later… but that reply was that they were closing the ticket because I hadn’t filed it “properly”, and they gave me a link to a very long-winded web page about how to properly file a bug. Excuse me? You don’t close a bug just because the person filing it didn’t cross his t’s and dot his i’s. Not if you give a shit about your users or your product. What WINE seems to require is that you be a developer in order to file a bug, because no simple user is going to jump through all those hoops just to say, “Yo, something’s broke here!” That’s just a lousy attitude on WINE’s part.

Conclusion:
I’m still undecided. WINE works “good enough” in the x86 version, and I could use that $5.99/month that I’m paying Cedega towards something else, but the attitude of the WINE people has really turned me off. I’m wishing there was a third alternative (don’t you dare say “Windows”!). Of course, I could always give up my gaming addiction….
Yeah, right.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • wolfger  On November 9, 2007 at 6:00 am

    Follow-up: I ditched Cedega. The only game I’m playing right now is Guild Wars, and WINE runs that good enough for me.

  • dude  On May 22, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    lol noob wine pwns cedega. Your lucky they’re so nice, if you posted on anything of mine I’d tell you go drop dead and ban you. wtf use winbl0ze? rofl windows can’t even run its own crap with all its different versions not to mention vista sucks for gaming and usually it blames all its errors on video cards because directx is gay.

  • dude  On May 22, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I’m sorry I have to post again such a ridiculous article here. You obviously don’t see the point that wine is open source thereby you can add/remove any glitchy weird mumbo jumbo code patches you like to up performance or give flashy effects. But then again you love them menu wizards and there mysterious mindfuck illusions of configuring something. Good luck to you mate 🙂

  • wolfger  On May 22, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Dude, what kind of drugs are you on? Go sober up and then post something that makes sense, please.

  • Nick  On May 25, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Eh, I say WINE is a lot better than Cedega. For one, it’s not expensive as hell. Two, it has amazing support, you just don’t know where to look. There are a bunch of communities in IRC servers all over the internet who would love to help you out with WINE.

    Good review, as far as I’m concerned. Thanks.

  • Determination  On July 22, 2008 at 2:08 am

    @Wolfger
    where exactly is this list of suggested settings for Cedega? I’m a little brain-dead, I can’t seem to find it.

    @Nick
    If you’re going to say that WINE has wonderful communities that would love to help with support, why not give a few examples for Linux/WINE n00bs who haven’t got a clue where to start? (Such as, say, ME, for instance?)

  • wolfger  On July 22, 2008 at 4:55 am

    Determination: I’m not using Cedega anymore, and they’ve come out with at least one new version since I wrote this, so I can’t say for sure where to get the suggested settings. I just recall there was some way to get the suggested settings for any game they have in their database. Not that their suggested settings were always the best ones 😦

  • Determination  On July 22, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Do’h! Well I wish I knew how to fix it up for WINE, then. Thanks anyway. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

