Seam Carving

I wrote about a month ago about an incredibly cool new image editing technique that will allow you to creatively resize without distorting important elements, or allow you to selectively remove elements. Now from the same source, I learn that there’s a Gimp plug-in for this, as well as a stand-alone application (Windows, Linux, whatever). Check it out.

Update: The Gimp plug-in seems fairly worthless. I’ll give the stand-alone a try sometime in the next week…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Hermano Cabral  On September 21, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    I’ve tried the gimp plug-in, and I can say it’s not worthless. I’ve done some examples to investigate the technique and put some results in my blog. I’m gonna try the stand-alone application, too, and hope to post a comparison later.

  • wolfger  On September 21, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    The horse pic on your site demonstrates why I called the Gimp plugin worthless. I was probably too harsh. I’m sure it has some worth, but without the ability to tell the plugin what you want preserved, you’re rolling the dice and just hoping for a good outcome. So it’s far less useful than it ought to be. Can we agree on that? 😉

  • Will  On September 28, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Check out rsizr.com for a Flash-based implementation of seam carving that lets you resize images, both in height and width simultaneously, in real time. (You can rescale and crop images too!)

    http://rsizr.com/about/gallery/ for example images

  • wolfger  On September 29, 2007 at 5:01 am

    Well, the gallery makes it look like a very cool tool, but it doesn’t seem to be working for me. I try to open a picture, but the page stays blank. I’m running Firefox browser on Linux, but that shouldn’t make any difference to a Flash app, right?

Leave a Reply

