Most wonderful time of the year

I love the Fall. Nice cool days, brisk nights that make for good sleeping. I get to wear my leather jacket without sweating to death. I’m looking forward to bonfires and pumpkin pie.

I felt particularly good this morning. Awake and full of energy.
Pain from Sunday is starting to fade, and I’m looking forward to an
actual tourney on Saturday. I’ve never been a tourney fighter; I’m all about the battles. I like a
group engagement, where I can play a supporting role. I like to be an
enabler. Keep myself alive, keep my teammates alive, and harass the
enemy while my teammates get the kills. If I get one or two kills
myself, I’m a happy man. But lately, I’ve been really enjoying the
one-on-one combat. I’m learning a new style and adapting it to the SCA
rules, and the way folks fight in the SCA, so it’s like every time I go
out, things are a bit different, and I can feel myself getting better.
It’s pretty awesome. I’m also finding myself thinking (a bit), instead of just reacting (entirely), during the actual fight. That’s a new experience as well. I’m not sure how I pulled it off, but I’m pretty sure it’s a good thing.

Of course, as I get closer to Saturday, I’ll probably start feeling ill
and unenergetic and unmotivated again… Something’s wrong in my head.
This pre-fight malaise has been chronic for me for several years now. The closer I get to having to put my armor on, the worse I feel, and I use “not feeling good” as an excuse to not fight. I’m fighting that feeling better than normal this year, but it’s still there, no
matter how many times I actually go out and fight and feel great
afterwards. I’m not sure what I can do to make it go away. I used to love to fight, and couldn’t wait to get armored up. I still love the idea of fighting, and I enjoy the actual fight, but I invariably feel loathing when I have to put the gear in the car, or sometimes starting the night before. I wish I knew why that was.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jeff, KE9V  On September 12, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    I love the Fall too. Giddy Up!

Leave a Reply

