Asshole of the Week: Paul Krassner

Paul Krassner at the Huffington Post labeled Gen. Wesley Clark his “Asshole of the Week”. Now I have a lot of respect for Clark, and I even registered as a Democrat (painful as that was) to vote for him in the 2004 primary, so when I learned this little tidbit, I ran right over to read why, exactly, somebody thinks he’s an asshole now. Maybe because he’s not running for president again? That wouldn’t be worthy of calling him an asshole, but I could certainly get behind the sentiment.

Sadly, no. Mr. Krassner is instead blasting Mr. Clark “for waiting until recently to reveal to Amy Goodman on ‘Democracy Now’ the following”. Excuse me? WTF?!? Who the hell is Amy Goodman, that prominent political figures have to report to her in a timely fashion? I call bullshit. This story that Clark “waited until recently to reveal” is a story I’ve heard a long time ago. Like, before the 2004 election. Or possibly shortly after it. And I’m not making the assumption, like Mr. Krassner, that the first time I hear it is the first time it’s been told.

So for wrongly lambasting a good man, not doing due diligence as a journalist, making an idiotic assumption, and forcing me to break my moratorium on negative blog posting, I ward Paul Krassner with my Asshole of the Week award. Congratulations, Paul.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kat  On August 30, 2007 at 9:44 am

    Clark published the same thing in his book Winning Modern Wars in 2003 and talked about it often during his Presidential campaign.

    Want to verify it?

    Go to http://tinyurl.com/2mcwjn (google books) and type in “draining the swamp”, then look on page 130.

    Posting this at Huffpo just makes this idiot look singularly uninformed, he should offer an apology to General Clark and explain why he didn’t listen in 2003.

Leave a Reply

