5-star Dust

I saw Stardust this weekend. Here’s my spoiler-free (a.k.a. not really saying much at all) take on it:

This is the best movie I have seen in a long, long time. I would categorize it as “high fantasy”, which probably leaves it as too fanciful for some people’s tastes, but if you liked The Princess Bride, The Adventures of Baron Munchausen, and/or Big Fish, then I’m willing to bet you’ll like this movie too. There are elements of all three in here, though I would say it most closely resembles Munchausen. It was entertaining from the time the movie started until the very end. The pacing was superb, and there was never a dull moment where my  tired eyes felt safe in closing for a bit. The humor was spot on, and had my rolling in my seat on a couple of occasions. Robert De Niro, when he finally enters the movie, steals the show. The movie, however, falls short of “perfect” near the end, when some classically Hollywood-ish elements find their way on to the screen. I can overlook that, though, in the presence of one of the best sword duels I have ever seen on film, reminiscent of the sword duel from Princess Bride, but with… well… much less dialogue. You’ll see why.
I’ve never read Stardust, or anything else by Neil Gaiman, before, but now I’m going to have to. I already want to see this movie a second time to see what details I may have missed the first time through, and to enjoy all the best bits a second time through. It’s definitely going on my Christmas wish list if it’s released on DVD by then. Go see it!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

