The time paradox

No, I’m not about to go “Star Trek” all over the blog… I’m talking about a much more mundane paradox than anything Kirk and company ever got involved in. My problem, quite simply, is this:
When I wake up early, I leave for work late.

I do this with a large degree of consistency, and it makes very little sense. A modest understanding of time and math will tell you that waking up earlier should make it easier for me to get out the door on time, being that I have more time to do the things I need/want to do. But probably about 90% of the time the actual effect is the opposite. I wake up 30 minutes, or an hour, or 2 hours ahead of the alarm clock, and the next thing I know, I’m looking at the clock and I should be on my way out the door, possibly several minutes ago, and I’m not even dressed yet.
One thing I could do to help this would be to alter my morning routine so that getting dressed is the first thing I do, rather than next-to-last… but that wouldn’t stop me from being late, it would just make me less-so. A solution would probably be “don’t start playing on the computer”, but then what do I do? Go to work 30-120 minutes early? Not really liking that solution. Second alarm clock, that tells me when I need to start heading downstairs? Ugh. There’s got to be a better way, right?
Anybody else have this problem? Or a solution to it?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Another early riser  On August 23, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    I do have the same problem, mostly because morning is the most productive time for me and once I get rolling with something it’s hard for me to stop. Luckily my job has no fixed start time so I’m not fired yet…
    If you are looking for ideas of what to do in the morning, check these reasons to wake up early

Leave a Reply

