The Scooter commute

So, yesterday Bush commuted Scooter Libby’s sentence… Many people were shocked and surprised. I was only mildly surprised, and my surprise wasn’t that he did it, but that he didn’t issue a full pardon. I agree completely with statements issued by prominent Democrats, like “These guys think they are above the law”, “It is fundamental to the rule of law that all citizens stand before the bar of justice as equals”,  and “Accountability has been in short supply in the Bush administration,
and this commutation fits that pattern. It is emblematic of a White
House that sees itself as being above the law.”

On the other hand… If I were President, I’d be pardoning folks left and right. Especially if it was my second (and final) term. What good is a power like that if you don’t use it? I’d respond to criticisms of “above the law” with “the law permits me to commute or pardon people as I see fit.” So if anybody has a problem with what just happened, they need to change that law. Of course, I’d use my power pardoning people who deserve it, rather than just my cronies….

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jeff  On July 3, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    The Presidential pardon was the only mistake made by the Founding Fathers. I think it was some holdover from their days with a King — it seems they wanted to convey on the President the power of a King.

    Meanwhile, the Democrats stew but they don’t want to pull out the LONG list of people pardoned by Clinton his last week in office…. 🙂

    Politics and Lordships — all corrupt, all the time.

Leave a Reply

