Nathan Fillion can’t catch a break

I think FOX hates this man. Which is a shame, because I think he’s an excellent comedic actor. First he was the captain of Serenity in the short-lived Firefly (best Science Fiction show, ever), which FOX canceled without airing all the episodes of (and showing the others out of order, which is a heck of a way to kill a continuing storyline!). Now with Drive he got another chance, and again FOX cancels early. Though CNN needs to fact check a bit better. The headline says it’s “yanked after two episodes” which is laughably false. The text of the article says “after two weeks”, which is correct, but there were 4 episodes in that time. Another Firefly actor, Richard Brooks who played Jubal Early in one episode, also had a small role in Drive, appearing in at least 2 of the episodes (I haven’t watched the 4th one yet). I was really starting to enjoy this show, so I’m upset it’s gone, and Nathan Fillion with it. Hopefully the CNN speculation that Drive might become available for streaming or download online is true. Hopefully they don’t DRM the crap out of it so that I can’t watch it.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jay  On April 26, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    The marketing for Firefly was awful (Western comedy in space???). I didn’t watch any of it until the movie was about to come out. By then it was too late.

  • wolfger  On April 27, 2007 at 4:23 am

    I’ve got to agree with you there. The way they marketed that show had no appeal to me whatsoever. The one time I tuned in (about 1/3 the way into Jaynestown, when they were in the saloon with the guitarist singing Hero of Canton), I thought “WTF??!?” and turned it off after about 5 minutes. After it was out on DVD, I was convinced by rave reviews from friends and strangers alike to rent disc 1. After watching the pilot episode (the real pilot), and Train Job (the FOX pilot), I knew I had to go out and buy the entire season. I’ve been cursing FOX for canceling (and for crappy marketing) ever since.

  • glorious  On April 28, 2007 at 11:11 am

    ok, I only watched one and maybe a third episodes of Drive, and only because Nathan was in it. It didn’t appeal to me AT ALL! looked too much like some stupid reality show.

    and as far as that goes, the first time a friend tried to interest me in firefly, he showed me the pilot (true pilot) and I tuned out on that because it was all shooting and killing and such and I never got to the rest of the episode. Last thing I wanted was to see another space drama about killing other peoples! another friend a couple years later showed me the ‘train’ episode first and I was immediately hooked.

    and nathan filion was in episodes of ‘buffy’ before firefly came into existence!

Leave a Reply

